1. Home
  2. Frequently Asked Questions
  3. Curriculum
Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size


What does 'curriculum (as determined by NESA) for primary or secondary schools in accordance with the Education Act 1990' mean?

This means the curriculum that is based on and taught in accordance with NESA syllabuses and/or the curriculum for the Record of School Achievement and/or Higher School Certificate.

What are the curriculum requirements a school must comply with in providing primary education?

A registered non-government school must have:

  • an educational program comprising courses of study based on, and taught in accordance with, the outcomes of the Authority's syllabuses for the six key learning areas (KLAs) of primary education:
    • English
    • Mathematics
    • Science and Technology
    • Human Society and Its Environment
    • Creative Arts
    • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • courses of study in each of the KLAs for each child during each Year
  • courses of study that are appropriate for the children concerned having regard to their level of achievement and needs
  • courses of study in accordance with any relevant guidelines developed by NESA and approved by the Minister.

Can a school modify part of a NESA syllabus? If so, what are the requirements?

Registered primary schools and secondary schools that are not accredited for the Record of School Achievement or Higher School Certificate can apply for NESA approval to modify one or more outcomes of a NESA syllabus as it considers necessary to enable any part of a key learning area that appears to NESA to be incompatible with the educational philosophy or religious outlook of a registered non-government school. The outcomes of Record of School Achievement and Higher School Certificate courses cannot be modified.

Where a registered school considers that one or more of the outcomes of a NESA syllabus are incompatible with the school's educational philosophy or religious outlook the school can seek NESA approval to use modified outcomes for that part of the syllabus. Applications are made using the relevant forms for individual schools and for registration system schools. Applications must be submitted nine (9) months prior to the projected date that the school intends to commence using the proposed modified outcomes.

What documentation should a school maintain if NESA has approved the modification of an outcome(s) of a NESA syllabus?

The required documentation is described in the evidence of compliance in section 3.3.2 in the Registered and Accredited Non-government Schools (NSW) Manual and 5.3.2 in the Registration  Systems and Member Non-government Schools (NSW) Manual.

I want to open a school for Years 11 and 12 only. How many subjects do I need to offer?

The school must offer sufficient courses for all students to be eligible for the Higher School Certificate.

To be eligible for the HSC, students must complete satisfactorily a Preliminary pattern of study comprising at least 12 units and a HSC pattern of study comprising at least 10 units. Both patterns must include:

  • at least six units from NESA Developed Courses
  • at least two units from a NESA Developed Course in English
  • at least three courses of two units value or greater (either NESA Developed or NESA Endorsed Courses)
  • at least four subjects.

The rules and procedures for the Higher School Certificate are detailed in the ACE website.

Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size